DMV Driver Violation Point System
When you get pulled over and receive a traffic ticket, one of your concerns may be how many points you’ll get if you are convicted of the traffic violation.
Initially, you should know that the point total on your driver abstract is based upon the date you received the ticket, not the date you pled guilty or were convicted. Moreover, that the point total on your driver abstract only includes the points received on violations that occurred in the last 18 months.
According to the New York Department of Motor Vehicles, points are assigned as follows:
Speeding (Over 40 MPH over posted limit) 
Speeding (31 to 40 MPH over posted limit) 
Speeding (21 to 30 MPH over posted limit) 
Reckless Driving 
Failed to Stop for School Bus 
Railroad Crossing Violation 
Improper Cell Phone Use 
Use of Portable Electronic Device 
Speeding (11 to 20 MPH over posted limit) 
Followed too Closely 
Inadequate Brakes (private car) 
Speeding (1 to 10 MPH over posted limit) 
Failed to Yield Right-of-Way 
Improper Passing, Changing Lane Unsafely 
Driving Left of Center, In Wrong Direction 
Leaving Scene of Property Damage Incident 
Child Safety Restraint Violation 
Any other moving violation 
If you get 11 points in 18 months, the New York DMV may suspend your driver license. If you get 6 or more points in 18 months, the New York DMV will penalize you with a driver responsibility assessment in the amount of $300 or greater. Your insurance company may also increase your premiums if you are convicted of a traffic violation that carries points.
If you’ve been issued a traffic ticket in Albany County or the Greater Capital District, then contact the Calabrese Law Firm at 518-350-7480 for a free consultation.